The mission of the Council on Diversity & Inclusion is to provide strategic recommendations to the President on how to develop and sustain an inclusive and diverse campus community. The Council monitors the effectiveness of the College's inclusion practices and diversity initiatives and initially focuses on several areas, such as:

  • Create a comprehensive diversity plan for the College

  • Recruitment & retention of faculty, staff, and students from underrepresented groups

  • Diversity in the Curriculum and Co-curriculum

The Council develops recommendations for policies, programs, and assessments and meets monthly. The 2015-2016 Diversity and Inclusion Council membership includes:

Lakesia Johnson - Co-Chair and Convener
Leslie Turner - Co-Chair
Brian Mitchell - Staff Council
Elizabeth Prevost - Associate Professor of History (Executive Council Representative)
Laura Sinnett - Associate Professor of Psychology (FOC Appointed, 2015-2017)
Al Lacson - Associate Professor of History (FOC Appointed, 2015-2017)
Deanna Shorb - Dean of Religious Life 
Karen Edwards - Director of International Student Affairs 
Justin Thaxton - Coordinator for Diversity & Inclusion in Athletics
Chinyere Ukabiala - Ombudsperson
Patricia Amador-Lacson - Coordinator of Multicultural Recruitment 
Vance Byrd - Associate Professor of German (Faculty & Staff of Color Caucus)
Randye Jones - Faculty & Staff of Color Caucus
Stephanie Snow - Interim Assistant Director of Intercultural Affairs
Jennifer Krohn - Accessibility
Autumn Wilke - Disability Resources Coordinator
Simone Downs - Multicultural Leadership Council
Anita DeWitt - SGA Diversity & Outreach Coordinator
Dan Davis - SGA President
Emily Hughes - Accessibility
Toby Baratta - Queer Leadership Council



Road Map to Articulating the Value of Diversity in Grinnell’s Liberal Arts Education and Implementing that Vision


Campus Climate Next Steps, October 2011