Archiving node lets you leave nodes visible to site visitors while also indicating that it may be older or out-dated.
What Archiving Nodes Does
When you archive your content, Drupal does two things:
- Puts "[ARCHIVE]" before the HTML page title. (The HTML page title is the one that appears in the browser's address bar and in search results. It is not the Heading 1 title that appears in the banner on your page.)
- Displays the section's archive message at the top of the nodes main content. Any section of the site can have a customized message. The default message is:
This content is kept and displayed for archival purposes only. There may be newer information available.
In addition, archiving can be used to hide or display a node in a view. For example, say you had some handbooks you wanted to display each year. If you wanted to only show the most recent handbooks on your main page, but wanted to let people see the older handbooks in an archive, we can give you a way to do this.
How to Archive a Node
To archive a node, just add any tag to the "Archives" tag field, found in the Vocabularies section of most content types.
We recommend you use your site's section as the primary tag for archiving (e.g. "Student Affairs," "International Studies," or "Political Science"). You might also add a second or third tag to specify the type of content (e.g. "News," "Minutes," etc.).
Contact [webguys] or fill out a feature request if you would like pages listing all your archived content (can be searchable or filterable), or lists of specific types of archived content, such as archived news or meeting minutes.
Ways to Hide Content
There are other ways to control whether and how people see your site's content.
- Hidden menu items are publicly accessible but not displayed on the menu. Hidden menu items might be found through views, through a search of the site, or entering the URL.
- Unpublished nodes are not visible to the public. Only people who are logged in and have permissions to edit the page will see the content.