Thursday, Nov. 29, 2012 6:06 pm

Grinnell, IA - [[{"fid":"5170","view_mode":"media_original","type":"media","attributes":{"height":234,"width":350,"style":"width: 350px; height: 234px; float: right;","alt":"unknown.jpeg","class":"media-element file-media-original"}}]]On Thursday, Dec. 6 at 7:30 p.m. critically acclaimed jazz musicians Ninety Miles featuring Stefon Harris, Nicholas Payton and David Sanchez, will perform at Herrick Chapel on the Grinnell College campus.

Cuban-American jazz ensemble Ninety Miles features Stefon Harris (vibes), Nicholas Payton (trumpet) and David Sanchez (saxophone). The collaboration of these three outstanding musicians has created a unique collection of songs, blending traditional bebop with Latin and Afro-Caribbean influence. In addition to their music, the ensemble also created a documentary titled "The Ninety Miles Project." The film was brought to life within a span of a week in Havana, Cuba, highlighting local musicians, merging cultures and developing a musical conversation with no language barriers. Stefon Harris explains, "Music, in Cuba, is more than just something you sit and watch onstage. It's related to the way that people walk, to the food that they cook. It was nice to be in an environment like that, artistically."

Tickets are required for this free public performance and may be obtained at the Bucksbaum Center for the Arts box office beginning Mon., Dec. 3 at noon. A limited number of tickets are also available beginning at noon, Dec. 3, at the Pioneer Bookshop in downtown Grinnell. There is a two-ticket limit per person present at the box office. Phone reservations are not accepted. For more information on ticketing, please visit: 

Herrick Chapel is located at 1128 Park St., with parking available along the street in front of the venue and in nearby parking lots. Grinnell welcomes the participation of people with disabilities. Information on parking and accessibility is available on the college website, here.

Cuban-American jazz ensemble Ninety Miles featuring Stefon Harris, Nicholas Payton and David Sanchez. Photo courtesy of Myles Weinstein