Luebben Award

The Ralph Luebben Award in Anthropology is awarded to the graduating senior who best exemplifies the ideal Anthropology student including meritorious scholarly work, breadth in the discipline, field experience, and an anthropological viewpoint on life.

2012 Recepients:

  • Maya Andelson
  • Anne Robinson

Asrelsky Anthropology Paper Prize

The Rachael Asrelsky Anthropology Paper Prize. This award is given annually to the author of an outstanding paper written for an anthropology class in honor of Rachael Asrelsky ('89) who died in the Lockerbie bombing while returning from an off-campus program.

2012 Recepients:

  • Elizabeth Behr
  • Rebecca Hughes
  • Meagan Januska


The Emeritus Professors’ Student Research Fund

In 2011, Doug Caulkins became an emeritus professor of the College. In recognition of Doug’s extensive teaching and service to the department as well as his unending support of students, the department of Anthropology has established “The Emeritus Professors’ Student Research Fund”. These competitive funds are intended to expand current student research opportunities when normal college funds are not available. The funds may be used for research or expenses related to travel to disseminate results of research (such as conference attendance).

Summer 2012 Recepients:

Toby Austin '14 Office of the State Archaeologist (OAS) at The University of Iowa
Toby Cain '12 Smithsonian National Postal Museum
Katie Fenster '14 Washington, D.C.
Elena Gartner '14 Grinnell, Iowa
Benjamin Shirar '13 Office of the State Archaeologist (OAS) at The University of Iowa