We have several committees that lead the curricular and policy changes within the education program. These include the following:

The Teacher Education Committee (TEC) shapes the policies and programs of the education program and authorizes students for the licensure program

The Teacher Advisory Committee (TAC) facilitates dialogue and manages relationships with area schools

In addition, student majors within the program elect a Student Educational Policy Committee (SEPC) every year that assists in the faculty hiring and review process and in planning extracurricular activities, such as visiting lecturers and student colloquia.

The 2015-2016 SEPC’s for the Education Department are: 

  • Alexandra Odom '16  [co-chair] (History)
  • Rachel Von Holst '16 [co-chair]  (History)
  • Jherron Sutton '18 (Undeclared)
  • Teresa Villarreal '17 (Biology)
  • Christian Clark '18 (undeclared)
  • Ellen Schneider '17 (History)
  • Elizabeth Nelson '17 (Anthro)