Grinnell College landed a league-best 65 student-athletes on the Midwest Conference All-Academic Team for the 2009-10 winter sports season. Leading the pack were the men’s and women’s indoor track and field teams, which had 14 selections each.

Student-athletes from all 10 member institutions who hold a cumulative 3.2 grade point average and letter in any of the MWC’s winter sports (men’s and women’s basketball, men’s and women’s swimming and diving, and men’s and women’s indoor track and field) are eligible. The complete release can be seen at The honorees for Grinnell, by team, were as follows:

Men’s Basketball (6):

Matthew Chalupa ’12, undeclared

Aaron Epps ’11, mathematics

Scott Kaitz ’11, psychology

Kale Knisley ’11, history

Alexander McDonald ’11, mathematics/economics

Ross Preston ’10, English  

Women’s Basketball (6):

Brianna Gallo ’11, psychology

Sara Hoffman ’12, psychology

Megan Huey ’12, history

Ashley Jeannin ’12, undeclared

Mallory Scharf ’11, political science

Jessica Vaverka ’11, psychology  

Men’s Swimming and Diving (12):

Timothy Avitt ’10, psychology

Glenn Clark ’10, biology/history

Sebastian De Pascuale ’12, undeclared

Marco Fulgoni ’12, undeclared

Cyrus Mistry ’11, political science

William Mogavero ’12, mathematics

Ross Noecker ’11, economics

Samuel Sherwood ’12, undeclared

Joseph Sinnwell ’12, undeclared

Mark Sullivan ’10, English

Patrick Thomas ’10, economics

Ian Warlick ’10, religious studies  

Women’s Swimming and Diving (13): Miram Barcus ’12, sociology

Balyssa Bell ’12, undeclared

Morgan Bober ’12, undeclared

Kelly Bruce ’12, biological chemistry

Lily Camp ’10, sociology/Spanish

Katherine Chung ’12, Spanish
Amy Hadow ’10, English

Morgan Horton ’11, psychology

Carly Kruse ’10, chemistry

Hannah Lytle ’11, econonics/mathematcis

Meghan McDoniel ’10, psychology

Martha Reilly ’12, political science

Colleen Strickler ’12, undeclared  

Men’s Indoor Track and Field (14): Dylan Boucher ’12, psychology

Benjamin Brewer ’11, biological chemistry

Winnon Brunson ’10, philosophy

Kevin Cashman ’10, political science/biological chemistry

Samuel Goldstein ’11, Chinese

Joseph Hermann ’11, art/French

Erik Jarvis ’12, undeclared

Kyle Lynch-Klarup ’10, physics/religious studies

Ian McCallum Cook ’12, undeclared

David Montgomery ’10, biology

Scott Phillips ’11, psychology

Hugh Redford ’10, philosophy

Gregory Swanson ’10, religious studies

Michael Tylinski ’11, chemistry  

Women’s Indoor Track and Field (14):

Samantha Bates ’12, undeclared

Catherine Bisignano ’12, undeclared

Rachel Brolsma Whitfield ’10, sociology

Elizabeth Brost ’10, physics/French

Nora Colter ’10, psychology

Hannah Colter ’12, undeclared

Concepcion De Leon Suarez ’12, Spanish

Sachiko Graber ’12, undeclared

Olivia Horan ’12, undeclared

Frances Leslie ’10, English

Diane Meisles ’12, undeclared

Ann Tempest ’12, undeclared

Amy Tsui ’12, undeclared

Lindsey Wheeler ’10, history    

Share / Discuss