The Grinnell College men's soccer team enjoyed a historic season in 2009, and that success has been reflected by the All-Midwest Conference selections.

Brian Jaworski has been named MWC Coach of the Year, and Pioneers Alex Exarhos '10, JP Prouty '10 and Andrew Stephenson '10 have all been named to the All-MWC First Team in voting by the league's coaches.

Under Jaworski's guidance, Grinnell qualified for the NCAA Division III National Tournament for the first time in school history.

The Pioneers advanced after claiming the MWC Tournament title with a pair of thrilling shootout wins over St. Norbert College and Beloit College.

Prouty, a defender from Stilwell, Kan., and Stephenson, a forward from Middleton, Wis., have been named to the All-MWC First Team three times in their careers while Exarhos (top, right), a defender/midfielder from Richland, Wash., is a two-time First-Team pick after being named to the Second Team twice. Stephenson led the Pioneers and was third overall in goals scored this season with 12, and was fourth in the league in points with 24. Prouty and Exarhos helped anchor a Pioneer defense that gave up a measly 1.43 goals a game. Both also ranked second on the team in assists with three, while Prouty was third in goals with five. Exarhos had one goal.

Three Pioneers, forwards Justin Koester '10 and Mark Rosenberg '11 and defender Andrew Mullins '11, were named to the MWC Second Team. Koester, from Carmel, Ind., was second on the team in goals with nine while also collecting one assist and Rosenberg, from Oak Park, Ill., topped the team in assists with five while scoring three goals. Mullins, from Charlotte, N.C., is a three-time All-MWC selection after again helping spark the Pioneers' stifling defense. He was a Second-Teamer his first two seasons, as well.

The MWC Players of the Year both come from regular-season league champion Carroll University. They are Andy Prentice (Offensive) and Justin Ziegler (Defensive). All-Conference Release

Share / Discuss