Promotions and Tenure of Faculty Announced for 2019–20

June 04, 2019

The Board of Trustees has approved the awarding of tenure and President Raynard S. Kington has approved numerous faculty promotions for the 2019–20 academic year.

These faculty members are being recognized for their contributions to teaching and research, as well as their high levels of engagement with students as advisers and mentors.

Promoted to associate professor with tenure:

Granted tenure:

  • Xavier Escandell, anthropology
  • John Garrison, English
  • Tamara Beauboeuf, gender, women’s, and sexuality studies. She will join the faculty as the Louise R. Noun Chair in Women’s Studies in the fall of 2019. She comes to Grinnell College from DePauw University, where she is a professor of women’s studies and dean of the faculty.

Promoted to full professor:

Moving to senior faculty status:

We use cookies to enable essential services and functionality on our site, enhance your user experience, provide a better service through personalized content, collect data on how visitors interact with our site, and enable advertising services.

To accept the use of cookies and continue on to the site, click "I Agree." For more information about our use of cookies and to opt-out of cookies at any time, please refer to our website Privacy Policy.