Yesenia Ayala '18 wins 2018 Helena Percas de Ponseti Senior Award

May 15, 2018

Yesenia Ayala '18 is the winner of the Helena Percas de Ponseti Senior Award for the Academic Year 2017-2018. This award recognizes the quality of Yesenia's academic record as well as her commitment to the department's program.

In the forty years Professor Helena Percas de Ponseti taught in the Department of Spanish, she earned national and international recognition as an outstanding teacher and scholar. The first book she published represents one of the first major examinations of Latin American women poets. Professor Ponseti’s subsequent books and articles on Cervantes enhanced her scholarly reputation. Not surprisingly, after retiring from active teaching Professor Ponseti continued to lecture and publish on Cervantes and his art. Generations of Grinnell students benefited from the mutual enrichment of her research and teaching.

Past recipients of this award have been:

  • Troy Dougherty, 2000-2001
  • Matt Belknap, 2001-2002
  • Jennifer L. Thornton, 2002-2003
  • Phillip M. Cluphf, 2003-2004
  • Georgia Hart, 2004-2005
  • Joseph Hansen, 2005-2006
  • Anna Thomas, 2006-2007
  • Margaret Funk, 2007-2008
  • Ha Na Park, 2008-2009
  • Karl Kremling, 2009-2010
  • Joey Gallina, 2010-2011
  • Anna Bosak, 2011-2012
  • Kate Munday, 2012-2013
  • Claire Boerigter, 2013-2014
  • Isaac Walker, 2014-2015
  • Paige Wheeler, 2015-2016
  • Adriana Zenteno Hopp, 2016-2017

We use cookies to enable essential services and functionality on our site, enhance your user experience, provide better service through personalized content, collect data on how visitors interact with our site, and enable advertising services.

To accept the use of cookies and continue on to the site, click "I Agree." For more information about our use of cookies and how to opt out, please refer to our website privacy policy.