2017–18 Grinnell AmeriCorps Partnership

2017–18 AmeriCorps Team

2017–18 AmeriCorps Service Members

During the 2017–18 school year (the third year of the grant), four AmeriCorps members served with the Grinnell AmeriCorps Partnership.  These AmeriCorps members focused on health and wellness to ensure kids are prepared to learn (healthy readers taskforce coordinator) and helped support after-school literacy efforts (after-school enrichment aides).

Pictured below are the AmeriCorps members who served during this academic year. Kyle Cogley (at the table with the puzzle) and Claire Sponheim (at the table with hand tools) served at the Grinnell Community Daycare and Preschool providing direct service to support after-school literacy efforts in Grinnell.

Kyle Cogley with two elementary students
Kyle Cogley
Claire Sponheim with elementary students
Claire Sponheim
Bittner with elementary students
Carolyn Bittner

Carolyn Bittner served at the Grinnell Area Arts Center, also providing direct service to support after-school literacy efforts. 

Sara Brown served at Imagine Grinnell and debuted the Recipe-in-a-Bag program at the Community Meal. 

Sara Brown standing at table in hall of elementary school
Sara Brown
AmeriCorps 2018 Summer Learning Photo
2018 Summer Learning AmeriCorps group photo

2018 Summer Learning Corps Members

During the summer of 2018, 34 Summer Learning Corps members are serving directly with students in local summer youth programs.  Under the direction of host site supervisors, members are providing literacy–based education and enrichment to improve reading skills and mitigate summer learning loss.

First row, left to right: Emily Hulsing, Cecilia Mitchell, Zoe Shinefield, Gillian Ferguson, Ava Deitrich, Kaitlin Wells, Haley Deppe, Anna Moen, and Cherise Cox.

Middle row, left to right: Kaylin Kuhn, Tommy Clower, Ellen Schneider, June Christian, Robert Shore, Justin Chen, Liliann Hatting, Katherine Leathem-Rietz, Ernesto Nanetti-Palacios, Kenadie Fiebelkorn, Regan Gritsch, and Elyse Salpekar. 

Back row, left to right: Julien Moisan, Keli Vitaioli, Jarrett Rose, Milena Silva, Cole Riley, Sandra Skouson, Kyle Cogley, Lucas Chamberland, Shelly Vokoun, Cici Dugas, John Muckler, Zachary Loftin, and Alayna Costner-Withee.

We use cookies to enable essential services and functionality on our site, enhance your user experience, provide better service through personalized content, collect data on how visitors interact with our site, and enable advertising services.

To accept the use of cookies and continue on to the site, click "I Agree." For more information about our use of cookies and how to opt out, please refer to our website privacy policy.