Department of Mathematics and Statistics Honors Outstanding Students

June 23, 2023

Faculty members in mathematics and statistics have announced the 2023 departmental prize winners.

Huandong Chang ’23, Grace Davis ’23, and Zion Hefty ’23 have been named this year’s winners of the Linn Smith Prize for Excellence in Mathematics. The Linn Smith Prize is awarded annually to the graduating seniors who have demonstrated excellence in the discipline and great promise for continued contributions to the fields of mathematics and statistics.

Isidora Bailly-Hall ’24 and Lu Johnston ’24 are the recipients of the Pamela Ferguson Endowed Prize in Mathematics. This prize honors up to two mathematics or statistics majors entering their senior year and recognizes and encourages mathematical potential among students of all genders, particularly those traditionally under-represented in the discipline. Its winners are judged by the department to have demonstrated the greatest achievement and promise, as measured by such criteria as performance in mathematics or statistics courses (particularly upper-level courses), independent research projects, posters and other presentations, publications, competitions, etc.

Congratulations to Bailly-Hall, Chang, Davis, Hefty, and Johnston! The math and stats department is grateful for your impact!

We use cookies to enable essential services and functionality on our site, enhance your user experience, provide better service through personalized content, collect data on how visitors interact with our site, and enable advertising services.

To accept the use of cookies and continue on to the site, click "I Agree." For more information about our use of cookies and how to opt out, please refer to our website privacy policy.