Student Dates to Remember

2019-20

First Semester, Fall 2019

Thursday, Aug. 29
First day of classes.
Friday, Sept. 6
Final applications for fall 297, 299, 387, 397, 399, 499 independent studies due from students off campus previous semester or students continuing a MAP.
Friday, Sept. 13
Last day to add a course or an audit, drop a course without transcript entry, change to or from S/D/F grading and change a course from credit to audit or audit to credit.

Note: This deadline applies to regular full-semester courses only. Short course deadlines and ½ semester course deadlines are as follows (these deadlines, when applicable, are also noted in the Schedule of Courses)­:

½ Semester Course (lasting 6-7 weeks): Last day to add/drop, audit, and elect S/D/F grading is the second Friday after course start date. Last day to withdraw with a W transcript entry is by the Friday of the fourth full week of the course.

Short Course(less than a ½ semester): Last day to add/drop, audit, and elect S/D/F grading is by the end of the second class meeting day. Students may not withdraw (“W” grade) from a short course.

Monday, Sept. 16–Friday, Nov. 8
A full-term course may be withdrawn with a W transcript entry.
Friday, Oct. 4
Last day to add a “plus-2.”
Wednesday, Oct. 9
Last day to drop credits in excess of 18 without paying overload fees.
Monday, Oct. 14
Last day for second-semester second years to declare major before preregistration.
Saturday, Oct. 19
Fall break starts.
Monday, Oct. 28
Classes resume.
Monday, Nov. 4–Thursday, Nov. 14
Preregistration.
Friday, Nov. 8
Last day to withdraw from a full-term course with a W transcript entry.
Monday, Nov. 18
Final applications for spring 297, 299, 387, 397, 399, 499 independent studies due.
Friday, Dec. 13
Last day of classes.
Friday, Dec. 13
Last day to request an incomplete.

Second Semester, Spring 2020

Tuesday, Jan. 21
First day of classes.
Friday, Jan. 24
Final applications for spring 297, 299, 387, 397, 399, 499 independent studies due from students off campus previous semester or students continuing a MAP.
Friday, Jan. 31
Last day to add a course or an audit, drop a course without transcript entry, change to or from S/D/F grading and change a course from credit to audit or audit to credit.

Note: This deadline applies to regular full-semester courses only. Short course deadlines and ½ semester course deadlines are as follows (these deadlines, when applicable, are also noted in the Schedule of Courses)­:

½ Semester Course (lasting 6-7 weeks): Last day to add/drop, audit, and elect S/D/F grading is the second Friday after course start date. Last day to withdraw with a W transcript entry is by the Friday of the fourth full week of the course.

Short Course(less than a ½ semester): Last day to add/drop, audit, and elect S/D/F grading is by the end of the second class meeting day. Students may not withdraw (“W” grade) from a short course.

Monday, Feb. 3–Friday, April 3
A full-term course may be withdrawn with a W transcript entry.
Friday, Feb. 21
Last day to add a “plus-2.”
Monday, March 2
Last day to drop credits in excess of 18 without paying overload fees.
Saturday, March 14
Spring break starts.
Monday, March 30
Classes resume.
Monday, March 30
Last day for second semester second years to declare major before preregistration.
Friday, April 3
Last day to withdraw from a full-term course with a W transcript entry.
Monday, April 13 - Thursday, April 23
Preregistration.
Monday, April 27
Final applications for fall 297, 299, 387, 397, 399, 499 independent studies due.
Friday, May 1
Last day to request approval of summer school courses.
Monday, May 4
Part A of summer MAP (499) application due.
Friday, May 8
Last day of classes.
Friday, May 8
Last day to request an incomplete.
Monday, June 1
Last day to request 299 or 399 and submit part B for 499 summer research.
Wednesday, Aug. 26
All work due for internships and directed summer research.

We use cookies to enable essential services and functionality on our site, enhance your user experience, provide a better service through personalized content, collect data on how visitors interact with our site, and enable advertising services.

To accept the use of cookies and continue on to the site, click "I Agree." For more information about our use of cookies and to opt-out of cookies at any time, please refer to our website Privacy Policy.