Opportunities in Economics


Wilson Program Internships

Each year, the Wilson Program in Enterprise and Leadership sponsors mentored summer internships in the field of economics.

For more information, please visit the Wilson Program or contact Monty Roper, Wilson Program chair.

Rosenfield Program Internships

Each year, the Rosenfield Program sponsors mentored summer internships in the area of public affairs, international relations and human rights.

For more information, please visit the Rosenfield Program or contact Sarah Purcell, Rosenfield Program chair.

Global Development Studies Internships

Each year, the Global Development Studies Concentration sponsors mentored summer internships in the developmental economics.

For more information, please visit the Global Development Studies Concentration or contact Monty Roper, global development studies chair.

Environmental Studies Internships

Each year, the Environmental Studies Concentration sponsors mentored summer internships in the environmental and resource economics.

For more information, please visit the Environmental Studies Concentration or contact David Campbell, environmental studies chair.

Departmental Awards

Gilbert DeBartolo Award

Gilbert DeBartolo worked with Professor Robert Haveman to write a paper that subsequently was published in the American Economic Review. Gilbert viewed that experience of doing mentored original research as one of the highlights of his Grinnell career. After his untimely death, his family established the Gilbert DeBartolo Award to recognize students who take advantage of similar opportunities to do supervised original research and whose quality we hope is recognized beyond the campus.

For more information, please contact the Economics Department Chair Keith Brouhle.

Award Recipients

2018: Josh Ball, Duy Duong 2017: Noah Sebek 2016: Victor Ghazal, Beau Bressler 2015: Edison Liu, Ben Doehr 2014: Tamara Grbusic 2013: Anh Mai Bui, Daniel Nellis 2012: Isaac Garcia Molina 2011: Sam Redlitz 2010: Ryan Boehm 2009: Ritadhi Chakravarti, Jelal Younes 2008: Dhiren Patki 2007: Michael Gideon 2006: Matthew Johnshoy, Ben Wallenberg 2005: Raicho Bojilov 2004: Gabriela Dobrescu 2002: Katharine Anderson, Andrea Gelatt 1999: Syed Fazle Faisal 1998: Mark Burkhead 1996: Bruce D. Friedrich 1995: Rupesh Pradhan 1994: Jesse B. Messitte 1993: Devendra Saharia 1992: A. Minnie Alexander 1991: David Hammond

Horn-Theophilus Award

The Horn-Theophilus Award was established by the class of 1951 to recognize and pay tribute to two of its members, Willard Horn and David Theophilus, who died in action as Marine Corps officers during the Korean War. The class of 1951 honors the service of these two economics majors, and wants to recognize graduating economics majors who have made service to others a part of their Grinnell College career and who plan to maintain that commitment in the future.

To nominate someone, please fill out the Horn-Theophilus Award nomination form.

Award Recipients

2018: Carson Dunn 2017: Evelyn Weidman, Eva Lilienfeld 2016: Alethea Cook, Suha Gillani, and Inara Tareque 2015: Doug Anderson, Natalie Duncombe 2014: Chrissy Swartz, Kaydi-Ann Newsome 2013: Noah Most, Ishan Bhadkamkar 2012: Anna-Lisa Bowans, Joe Maloney, Gabe Schechter 2011: Anuraag Bhadana and Gayatri Jayal 2010: Ethan Struby 2009: Nmachi Jidenma, Jeffrey Raderstrong 2008: Joana Ofori-Addo, Megan Goering 2007: Deyo Johnson 2006: Laura Chesnut, Yvonne Palm 2005: Drew Blackman, Anne I. Salomon 2004: Jessica Beckwith 2003: Mirabelle Moreaux

Grants, Scholarships, and Fellowships

Gates Cambridge Scholarships

Gates Cambridge Scholarships are highly competitive full-cost awards for full-time graduate study and research in any subject available at the University of Cambridge.

More information: Gates Cambridge Scholarships

Application: Gates Cambridge Application

Marshall Scholarships

Marshall Scholarships finance young Americans of high ability to study for a degree in the United Kingdom. Up to forty Scholars are selected each year to study at graduate level at an UK institution in any field of study.

More information: Marshall Scholarships

Application: Marshall Scholarship Application

Mitchell Scholarship

The Mitchell Scholarship Program, named to honor former US Senator George Mitchell's pivotal contribution to the Northern Ireland peace process, is designed to introduce and connect generations of future American leaders to the island of Ireland, while recognizing and fostering intellectual achievement, leadership, and a commitment to community and public service.

Up to twelve Mitchell Scholars between the ages of 18 and 30 are chosen annually for one year of postgraduate study in any discipline offered by institutions of higher learning in Ireland and Northern Ireland.

More information: Mitchell Scholarships

Application: Mitchell Scholarship Applications

Rhodes Scholarships

Rhodes Scholarships, the oldest international educational fellowships, were initiated after the death of Cecil Rhodes in 1902, and bring outstanding students from many countries around the world to the University of Oxford.

More information: Rhodes Scholar

Application: Applying for the Rhodes Scholarshiop

Activities and Organizations


The Economics Student Education Personal Committee (SEPC) helps the department coordinate activities for Economics majors and other interested students. The SEPC plans information sessions about the major as well as social opportunities for students to interact, including Pub nights and an annual departmental picnic. Current membership of the SEPC includes :

  • Lucas LeDoux ’19
  • Pranjal Drall ’20
  • Mithila Iyer ’19
  • Ananya Munish ’20
  • Cora Touchstone ’19

Towards the end of each academic year, a new SEPC is elected among Economics majors; interested students should contact the department chair or current members of the SEPC for more information.

The Economics Department Student Educational Personal Committee (SEPC) organizes activities that help students and faculty engage and socialize outside of the classroom. These activities include Pub Nights and an annual Economics Department Picnic.

Student Mentors

Student mentors have worked with several classes to provide hands-on assistance with data intensive tasks and projects. For example, student mentors have assisted Professor Mutti with “writing about numbers” in International Economics and mentors are working with several Introduction to Economics classes with general problem sets.

Student Endowment Investment Group

The purpose of the Student Endowment Investment Group is to “educate students regarding financial management with particular regard to the various equity markets. This is done through educational presentations, group discussions, and by actively managing a $100,000 portfolio granted by the Trustees of Grinnell College."

For more information, please visit the SEIG website or email the student leaders.

Social Entrepreneurs of Grinnell (SEG)

The SEG seeks to “foster mutually empowering connections between the developed and developing world. SEG works to give agency to individuals in order to sustainably address the self-perpetuating social and economic problems of inequality.”

For more information, please visit the SEG website.

We use cookies to enable essential services and functionality on our site, enhance your user experience, provide better service through personalized content, collect data on how visitors interact with our site, and enable advertising services.

To accept the use of cookies and continue on to the site, click "I Agree." For more information about our use of cookies and how to opt out, please refer to our website privacy policy.